Peter Jones – Author & Public Speaker

Official blog & website

The Truth About… Wendy Steele

1 Comment

Wendy Steele
All this month, my second novel – THE TRUTH ABOUT THIS CHARMING MAN – is just 99p, as part of Amazon’s Summer Promo. Grab your copy here

…but not before I use the opportunity to shine a bright light into the eyes of an unsuspecting reader, and uncover the truth!

Today we’re grilling the ever wise, ever wonderful, author & novelist, Wendy Steele.

Let’s get straight into it!

Wendy – tell us one fact – one truth – that most people don’t know about you.

I begin my short stories and novels in long hand with my trusty red fountain pen.

All Will’s ever wanted in life is to be an actor. What is, or was, your greatest ambition?

I wanted to be a BBC researcher. I was blessed to be taught by an inspiring English teacher. Miss Bradshaw, taught me how to find information. Given questions to answer, the excesses of the non-fiction part of the library were ours to access and I loved every second of it. A puzzler by nature, finding answers by following clues in books, made me happy. Today, I spend one quarter of my life reading and gathering research for my stories.

Reading this in an email? If there’s a gap below that’s where a video would normally appear. Jump over to youtube to watch it.

Will makes a living pretending to be people he isn’t – have you ever pretended to be someone or something you’re not? Why?

I spent the first thirty four years of my life pretending to be the person others wanted me to be. I wanted to fit in. Since being ‘myself’, I’ve drawn other like minded people to me, friends I once dreamed of having. I won’t wear a mask again.

Will finds himself in a situation where he has to be two of his characters … at the same meeting! But most people have been in the situation where they’ve been expected to be in two different places at the same time, or to carry out two tasks simultaneously. Have you ever been in a similar situation? What?

A poignant one springs to mind…With the rapid onset of dementia, my mum fell often at her nursing home. About to leave for my daughter, Jasmine’s first solo in Billericay Operatic Society’s Fiddler on the roof, I received a call from the home saying mum had fallen, didn’t seem hurt but was being taken to hospital. Tough call. Knowing the wait in A&E was always three hours but feeling terribly guilty that mum would be alone for that time, I attended Jasmine’s show and spent the rest of the day and most of the night at the hospital.

EVERYTHING in the pound shop

If you could swap your life with someone else, who would you truly like to be?

I wouldn’t swap. When I see photos on social media of friends jetting off to sunny climes, I’m a little envious when the rain is pounding on my little Welsh farmhouse but I’m blessed to be living the life I love.

Jack Whitehall

Who would you like to see in a movie of THE TRUTH ABOUT THIS CHARMING MAN?

The first time I read TTATCM, I saw Jack Whitehall as Will. Can you imagine the facial expressions he would pull, dealing with Zlata?

Find out more about Wendy, her books, and everything else at WendySteele.com

Have you read The Truth About This Charming Man? Fancy being interrogated? Drop me a line!


TTATCM sidebarHot news! 

The Truth About This Charming Man is part of Amazon’s Summer Promo – for the entire month of June you can download the book for your smart phone, tablet, or kindle, for a mere 99p.

Visit BUYTHEBOOK.TODAY to buy the book… today!

(The FREE kindle reading app is available for everything. Seriously; EVERYTHING.)

Author: Peter Jones

Peter Jones started professional life as a particularly rubbish graphic designer, followed by a stint as a mediocre petrol pump attendant. After that he got embroiled in the murky world of credit card banking. Fun times. Now, Peter spends his days – most of them, anyway – writing. "The Truth About This Charming Man" - published March 2016 - is his second novel. Some say it's funny. Some say it's romantic. Others say it's bonkers. But then they said that about "The Good Guy's Guide To Getting The Girl" (his debut) - who are all these people? Rumour has it that a third funny romantic bonkers novel is just around the corner. He is also the author of three and a half popular self-help books on the subjects of happiness, staying slim and dating. If you’re overweight, lonely, or unhappy – he’s your guy. Peter doesn’t own a large departmental store and probably isn’t the same guy you’ve seen on the TV show Dragons’ Den.

One thought on “The Truth About… Wendy Steele

  1. Thanks for the opportunity to share ‘the truth’:-) Good luck with your latest fab novel!

    Like

Leave a Reply

