Peter Jones – Author & Public Speaker

Official blog & website

The Truth About… Issy Brooke

1 Comment

guaranteed summer giggles for one month ONLY

In a couple days time, my second novel – THE TRUTH ABOUT THIS CHARMING MAN – will be part of Amazon’s Summer Book Promo. For the whole of June you’ll be able to download the book for your smart phone, tablet, computer or kindle for a mere 99 pence. Now that’s a bargain!

If you’d like me to remind you, subscribe to this blog by pressing the FOLLOW button over on the right hand side (or click here if you’re reading this in an email). It’s free and I won’t sell your email address to bandits.

Before the promo starts though, let’s use the opportunity to shine a bright light into the eyes of an unsuspecting reader, and uncover the truth!

issy brookeToday I’m grilling Lincolnshire lass, cozy mystery novelist and occasional contemporary light romance author… Issy Brooke.

Let’s get straight into it.

Issy – tell us one fact – one truth – that most people don’t know about you.

That’s hard when, like me, you use social media for promotion and try to be as “authentic” as possible even behind layers of pen names. That said, I think the thing that surprises people the most is the fact that I live with chronic illness. Yeah, I post up all these pictures of epic 100-mile bike rides or 5km runs but I also have Crohn’s Disease and its associated issues (it’s like a buy-one-get-one-free condition). Anyone with a hidden disability is quite used to hearing “But you don’t LOOK ill!”

In my novel, all Will’s ever wanted in life is to be an actor. What is, or was, your greatest ambition?

Ha, like Will I’ve always wanted to do the things that most people will say are “unrealistic.” I studied Art and people would sigh and say, “Well, at least you could be a teacher” – though I never ended up teaching private classes in a pub! My greatest ambition, though, has always been to work for myself. It almost hasn’t mattered HOW. Just that I DO.

Will makes a living pretending to be people he isn’t – have you ever pretended to be someone or something you’re not? Why?

Oh yes. When I began writing, I used various TOP SECRET pen names because I was writing erotica at the time. And depending on the genre I would construct a persona to go with it. And I think, in day to day situations, I feel as if I “faked” my way through all my attempts to have a real job. I believe this is relatively common. When I was a teacher, I had a pair of boots that “made” me into a teacher. I put them on and I wasn’t me, I was A Real Teacher and I just acted as I thought A Real Teacher would. Probably not a healthy or sustainable way to pursue a career.

Will finds himself in a situation where he has to be two of his characters … at the same meeting! But most people have been in the situation where they’ve been expected to be in two different places at the same time, or to carry out two tasks simultaneously. Have you ever been in a similar situation? What?

I am ALWAYS in that situation, or it feels like it. Even as I type this, I am supposed to be doing a copyedit for someone, writing my next book, creating illustrations for a local museum, designing some advertising images and taking the dog to the vets.

 Without giving too much away… did you have a favourite scene (in TTATCM)? Which one?

Oh, that’s hard. I think the parts that have stuck in my head were where Will was getting his acting students to do exercises. I have never been on stage, but I used to work backstage in set design and stage management, and I used to sit up at the back of the auditorium with the other techies and be immensely grateful I wasn’t down there on stage in rehearsals trying to portray “A Toaster’s Internal Torment” or whatever.

Who would you like to see in a movie of THE TRUTH ABOUT THIS CHARMING MAN?

Can I just say “Johnny Depp” for everything, please?

Find out more about Issy at facebook.com/issy.brooke and issybrooke.com/

Have you read The Truth About This Charming Man? Fancy being interrogated? Drop me a line!


TTATCM sidebarHot news! 

The Truth About This Charming Man is part of Amazon’s Summer Promo – for the entire month of June you can download the book for your smart phone, tablet, or kindle, for a mere 99p.

Visit BUYTHEBOOK.TODAY to buy the book… today!

(The FREE kindle reading app is available for everything. Seriously; EVERYTHING.)

Author: Peter Jones

Peter Jones started professional life as a particularly rubbish graphic designer, followed by a stint as a mediocre petrol pump attendant. After that he got embroiled in the murky world of credit card banking. Fun times. Now, Peter spends his days – most of them, anyway – writing. "The Truth About This Charming Man" - published March 2016 - is his second novel. Some say it's funny. Some say it's romantic. Others say it's bonkers. But then they said that about "The Good Guy's Guide To Getting The Girl" (his debut) - who are all these people? Rumour has it that a third funny romantic bonkers novel is just around the corner. He is also the author of three and a half popular self-help books on the subjects of happiness, staying slim and dating. If you’re overweight, lonely, or unhappy – he’s your guy. Peter doesn’t own a large departmental store and probably isn’t the same guy you’ve seen on the TV show Dragons’ Den.

One thought on “The Truth About… Issy Brooke

  1. Loved this! Yes, can I agree that Johnny Depp should star as everything! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

