Peter Jones – Author & Public Speaker

Official blog & website

Peter Jones. Novelist.

2 Comments

Things have moved on somewhat since I wrote this post.
Find out how, here

Regular followers of my this blog might remember that I’ve made several attempts at claiming the novel I’ve been fiddling about with for  – gulp! – ten years was ‘finished’, or ‘almost finished’.

Here I am in 2011 for instance. And here. And, oh dear, here too. But the truth is I knew I could never claim it was actually finished until it was out there, in print, so back at the start of this year I set myself the following goal:

My novel
(The Good Guy’s Guide To Getting The Girl)
is AVAILABLE in two formats.
Easter 2014

Well I’m sure you know what happened next.

Easter came and went and the novel was nowhere to be seen.

People asked me where was it, and I told them that

  • it was with my agent, or
  • another publisher was taking a look at it

And whilst all those things were true, it wasn’t quite the whole truth, because I actually could have made the Easter deadline. If I’d put my mind to it. If I’d really wanted to. But I didn’t.

Why?

Because I was scared.

This novel has been a long time in the making. It was a journey that Kate set me off on just after we’d met. She believed in me. She believed in the story. She thought the book would do really really well. Basically there’s an entire decade of hopes and dreams wrapped up in those words.

But if I publish it…

  • maybe no one will buy it?
  • maybe people will buy it but maybe they won’t like it!
  • maybe they will like it, but not that much.
  • maybe this will be the first and last novel I ever write!!
  • maybe this will be the last book I ever write.
  • maybe this will herald the end of my writing career.

People often think that I left credit card banking because my first book, How To Do Everything And Be Happy, took off. That wasn’t the reason at all.  I left a well paid career behind because I realised, yet again, that life’s too short to be doing things that don’t make you happy!

I had a half finished novel on my desk, a half finished self help book, some money in the bank, and dreams of what life could be like – if I put some effort in – I took it all and made the most crazy decision of my life. In short I took a leap of faith.

I only realised recently that I was still mid-leap. I was still terrified to see it through.

But not any more!

I’m delighted to announce that The Good Guy’s Guide To Getting The Girl is FINALLY here. In two formats. And if you happen to be reading this before the 19th of September 2014 then it’s currently less than a quid for your kindle enabled tablet or smart phone! That’s got to be worth a punt, surely. Click here to visit your favourite online bookseller.

What’s it about?

It’s basically a romantic comedy – similar I suppose to Bridget Jones’s Diary or High Fidelity. If you’re a fan of Nick Hornby, or Mike Gayle, you might like this. Here’s the blurb:

Boxing Day, 1997: Jason Smith, 29, and self-confessed ‘good guy’, is single again. And now that he is, it seems all the single girls – the “Melanie Jacksons” of this world – are in short supply. Or are they? Has Jason stumbled on a foolproof way to find the girl of his dreams?

Both aided and hindered by his beer-drinking best buddy and reluctant father-to-be Alex, and his ever-wise, ever-sarcastic colleague Sian, “The Good Guy’s Guide to Getting The Girl” follows Jason on a voyage of self-discovery as he experiences the highs and lows of trying to meet one’s soul mate at the turn of the millennium.

And if all that hasn’t convinced you to run along to your nearest (online) book store, then you can find out more here.

I’m still terrified of course. I have no idea what people are going to make of it. I have no idea whether I’ve lived up to the high expectations Kate had of me. And I have absolutely no idea whether this will herald the start of my career as a novelist, or the end of my career as an author. But at least now – I’ll get to find out!

If you’ve been through a similar experience or have any words of wisdom to share with me, feel free to post a comment below.

Author: Peter Jones

Peter Jones started professional life as a particularly rubbish graphic designer, followed by a stint as a mediocre petrol pump attendant. After that he got embroiled in the murky world of credit card banking. Fun times.   Nowadays, Peter spends his days writing, or talking about writing. He’s written three novels; a Rom-Com (Romantic Comedy), A Crim-Com (Crime Comedy), and a Rom-Com-Ding-Dong (A sort-of Romantic-ish Comedy, with attitude). He’s currently working on his fourth novel, which - if it’s a musical - he’ll no doubt describe as a Rom-Com-Sing-Song. (Spoiler: It isn’t).   He is also the author of three and a half popular self-help books on the subjects of happiness, staying slim and dating. If you’re overweight, lonely, or unhappy – he’s your guy.   Peter doesn’t own a large departmental store and probably isn’t the same guy you’ve seen on the TV show Dragons’ Den.  

2 thoughts on “Peter Jones. Novelist.

  1. I am immensely reassured to know how long it’s taken you to get to this point. I started mine in 2005 and am now on absolutely the very last, definitely no more (yes, really) final edits ahead of self-publishing. So it looks as if mine will be out 10 years on, too. Good luck with yours!

    Like

    • Helen, I said those words sooooo many times; “this is the LAST edit.” And it never was. Even now I’m expecting some blooper that’s been lurking in those pages all this time to suddenly show its face and to be faced with some urgent FINAL edits.

      Like

Leave a Reply

