Peter Jones – Author & Public Speaker

Official blog & website

Top 5 Fictional Couples

Leave a comment

Keris Starring Kitty cover
If you’ve read (the second edition of) How To Do Everything And Be Happy you’ll remember that (around page 58) I call upon author, journalist, busy Mum of two, and my pal, Keris Stainton, to wade in on the sticky topic of Boxing Day and How To Make Work If You’re A Mum. And wade in she did. What a trooper.

So, that being the case, I’m more than happy to let Keris pitch her virtual stripey tent in my virtual back garden as part of a grand blog tour promoting her latest book, Starring Kitty. Susie Day describes it as “a beautiful, warm, kind, romantic, utterly special book.” Sounds exactly like my kinda thing, being something of a sucker for any kind of love story. Find out more about Starring Kitty, Keris, and her blog tour at the bottom of this page.

In the meantime, were to ask me for my fave fictional romances I’d probably have to sit here and stare into space for a quite a while before I could finally settle on what should make the list. Fortunately for you however, Keris has once again done all the heavy lifting for me. Here, for your consideration, are her TOP FIVE FICTIONAL COUPLES – feel free to share yours in the comments. Take it away Keris.

when-harry-met-sally-1. Harry Burns and Sally Albright

From my favourite film of all time, When Harry Met Sally (in case that wasn’t obvious from the names). Something that drives me mad about writing romance is when people describe it as ‘predictable’ – by which they mean ‘I knew those two would get together!’ It always makes me think of When Harry Met Sally since I’ve never seen anyone complain that the knew Harry was going to meet Sally FROM THE TITLE. The tagline of my second book, set in New York (and inspired by another Nora Ephron movie, Sleepless in Seattle), was ‘In a city of 8 million people, will they find each other?’ My husband suggested the book should’ve been just on page with ‘No’ on it.

Jewell2. Dig and Nadine in Thirtynothing by Lisa Jewell

One of my all-time faves, I read this one a long time ago so can’t remember much detail (my memory for books – even my own – is appalling) but I know that I totally believed in every detail and got to the end of the book astonished that these people don’t really exist. I think it’s probably time for a re-read actually…

FridayNightLights3. Coach and Tami Taylor from Friday Night Lights

The best portrayal of a marriage on TV. Tami is a goddess, of course. And Coach is pretty damn cool too. But they’re just so perfect together. They’re supportive and loving, but they call each other out on their crap. And they clearly still fancy each other like mad (and who can blame them?). Friday Night Lights is one of my favourite TV shows of all time and Coach and Tami’s relationship is one of the best things about it. (Also: Tim Riggins.)

Rennison4. Georgia and Dave the Laugh in Louise Rennison’s Georgia Nicolson series

Again, it’s a long time since I’ve read these books, but I loved both the characters a lot and rooted for them to get together. Plus Georgia introduced me to the expression ‘I hear the call of the horn’ which I use a lot! (See Tim Riggins, above.)

FRIENDS (Saison 5)5. Chandler and Monica

I know the big Friends romance was meant to be Ross and Rachel and, yes, I bought into that like everyone else (at least in the beginning), but the show’s true love story is, for me, Chandler and Monica. I would never have put them together, but they really really work. They both remain completely themselves, but complement each other beautifully. I love Chandler’s candlelit proposal (it makes me cry every damn time) but my favourite Chandler and Monica moment is this one, after they’ve had a rubbish weekend away together:

Chandler: So, I guess this is over.

Monica: What?

Chandler: Well, y’know, you and me, it had to end sometime.

Monica: Why, exactly?

Chandler: Because of the weekend, we had a fight.

Monica: Chandler that’s crazy! If you give up every time you’d have a fight with someone you’d never be with anyone longer than—Ohhh!


934702_10151585036680642_1121924852_n 20.36.01Keris blog tour banner 150dpi

Keris was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, but moved to the UK when she was four months old, and grew up on the Wirral. She now lives in Lancashire with her husband and two ridiculously gorgeous sons. She’s been writing stories for as long as she can remember and now writes full time.

Keris’s new book – STARRING KITTY – is her fifth book and is available NOW from all good book stores!

Sometimes the greatest love stories happen behind the scenes…
Kitty’s keeping secrets. Like how she’s struggling to cope with her mum’s illness. And how she’s falling for the girl with the purpley-red hair… A fun film competition with her friends Sunny and Hannah seems like the perfect distraction. But then Dylan wants to be more than Kitty’s secret. Is Kitty ready to let her two worlds meet or will she risk losing Dylan forever?

Find STARRING KITTY on amazon.

The Keris Stainton blog tour continues tomorrow – next stop is Sister Spooky at sisterspooky.co.uk

Author: Peter Jones

Peter Jones started professional life as a particularly rubbish graphic designer, followed by a stint as a mediocre petrol pump attendant. After that he got embroiled in the murky world of credit card banking. Fun times.   Nowadays, Peter spends his days writing, or talking about writing. He’s written three novels; a Rom-Com (Romantic Comedy), A Crim-Com (Crime Comedy), and a Rom-Com-Ding-Dong (A sort-of Romantic-ish Comedy, with attitude). He’s currently working on his fourth novel, which - if it’s a musical - he’ll no doubt describe as a Rom-Com-Sing-Song. (Spoiler: It isn’t).   He is also the author of three and a half popular self-help books on the subjects of happiness, staying slim and dating. If you’re overweight, lonely, or unhappy – he’s your guy.   Peter doesn’t own a large departmental store and probably isn’t the same guy you’ve seen on the TV show Dragons’ Den.  

Leave a Reply

