Peter Jones – Author & Public Speaker

Official blog & website

Chatty

Leave a comment

author pic5

You know what the best thing about being an author is?

Giving ‘talks’.

Most of my days are spent locked away in this here office either writing (on a good day), or (more likely) doing all the other things that come with the job (most of which fall under the broad heading of promotion). But maybe once a fortnight I leave the house and drive to a church hall, or a community centre, and spend an hour or so entertaining the members of a Women’s Institute, a Town’s Women’s Guide, a branch of the U3A, or a writing circle.

The first talk I ever gave was as part of The Essex Book Festival back in March 2012. To say I was nervous is something of an understatement, but with some two dozen talks under my belt (not to mention numerous workshops and radio interviews) I think I can say with some degree of confidence that I’m getting a feel for them.

My usual talk tells the story of how I came to write my three How To books, how I landed a book deal with audible and Harper Collins, as well as how I met Kate and the influence that she had on my life. It’s all pretty light hearted, with a couple of surprises along the way. Thirty minutes in I usually throw it open to questions and let the audience determine where we go from there.

It’s hard to say how people react without sounding a little big headed. Let’s just say that the last two or three groups I’ve spoken to have already pencilled me into their schedules for a follow-up talk next year. I think that speaks for itself.

If you’d like me to talk to your group or you are looking for an After Dinner Speaker then let’s talk.

Please drop me a line via the contact page, and I’ll get back in touch, diary at the ready.


Right now I’m doing a deal for London / Essex based writing groups & circles. Book me for a talk and I’ll only charge travelling expenses. What’s not to like about that?

Author: Peter Jones

Peter Jones started professional life as a particularly rubbish graphic designer, followed by a stint as a mediocre petrol pump attendant. After that he got embroiled in the murky world of credit card banking. Fun times. Now, Peter spends his days – most of them, anyway – writing. "The Truth About This Charming Man" - published March 2016 - is his second novel. Some say it's funny. Some say it's romantic. Others say it's bonkers. But then they said that about "The Good Guy's Guide To Getting The Girl" (his debut) - who are all these people? Rumour has it that a third funny romantic bonkers novel is just around the corner. He is also the author of three and a half popular self-help books on the subjects of happiness, staying slim and dating. If you’re overweight, lonely, or unhappy – he’s your guy. Peter doesn’t own a large departmental store and probably isn’t the same guy you’ve seen on the TV show Dragons’ Den.

Leave a Reply

