Peter Jones – Author & Public Speaker

Official blog & website

Memories – in memory of my Grandfather

Leave a comment

 

 

 

my grandfather
was a fascinating man
what I learnt in history, was still just a memory to him
he’d tell me stories
about the war, places he’d been, things he’d seen
and about growing up, where he lived, him & Yogie, his brothers, his dad
it was a different world
and his memory seemed to reach back, further than was possible

my grandfather
knew a lot of stuff
he made me realise that knowing stuff is a good thing
I enjoyed listening to his opinions on things I enjoyed watching him argue with my Dad

he was wise
he was philosophical
even now his words rattle around in my head:
“as one door closes, another one opens”
“insurance is nothing more than legalised gambling, and you’ll never win”
“an accountant is a man who can tell you how much it costs to have a wastepaper basket next to your desk”
and he was humble
he was always keen to know more stuff
even from me
and I was just a kid

my grandfather
spent time with me
we went up to London together
he showed me his London, and I showed him mine
I went to his office one day
he showed me computers before anyone I knew had ever seen a computer
he taught me chess
he taught me “patience”
he showed me articles from National Geographic magazine
he sat in the chair, and I sat on the floor
I wish I could have stayed there for ever

my grandfather
treated me like no-one else
he shook my hand
like I was a man
but I was just a kid.

my grandfather
was my Granddad


In loving memory of my grandfather, Arthur Bradley, who passed away on the 21st January 2005.
Click here to read my brother’s related “meanwhile”

Author: Peter Jones

Peter Jones started professional life as a particularly rubbish graphic designer, followed by a stint as a mediocre petrol pump attendant. After that he got embroiled in the murky world of credit card banking. Fun times.   Nowadays, Peter spends his days writing, or talking about writing. He’s written three novels; a Rom-Com (Romantic Comedy), A Crim-Com (Crime Comedy), and a Rom-Com-Ding-Dong (A sort-of Romantic-ish Comedy, with attitude). He’s currently working on his fourth novel, which - if it’s a musical - he’ll no doubt describe as a Rom-Com-Sing-Song. (Spoiler: It isn’t).   He is also the author of three and a half popular self-help books on the subjects of happiness, staying slim and dating. If you’re overweight, lonely, or unhappy – he’s your guy.   Peter doesn’t own a large departmental store and probably isn’t the same guy you’ve seen on the TV show Dragons’ Den.  

Leave a Reply

